IndyCar Racing

IndyCar at Iowa: Will Power, Team Penske Fastest in Friday Practice Session | IndyCar

Scott McLaughlin Masters Mid-Ohio as Drivers Feud

In a stark contrast from the rough and bumpy street circuit, drivers now will be challenged with wrestling their cars on the 0.875-mile bull ring in Newton, Iowa. The short tri-oval has variable banking that often looks more like a superspeedway. Drivers at the “World’s Fastest Short Track” are tested mentally and physically as they make laps in under 18 seconds.

Drivers will be busy this weekend, with two races on tap. Qualifying for both races will take place tomorrow but today was all about practice.

Following the 90-minute practice session, it was Will Power who sat at the top of the time sheet. The Team Penske ace was followed by Conor Daly, teammate Scott McLaughlin, Alex Palou, and Pato O’Ward. Rounding out the top ten in the session were Marcus Ericsson, Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal, Jimmie Johnson, and Scott Dixon.

Chevrolet had the edge in terms of manufacturers but all four Chip Ganassi Racing drivers landed inside the top ten. That was great for Honda but the Andretti Autosport stable did not fare so well. Their four drivers were 14th, 20th, 23rd, and 24th respectively. Michael Andretti’s team used to dominate this track, winning seven of the first nine races here. They have not won since 2015 though, when Ryan Hunter-Reay earned back-to-back victories.

2022 Iowa Speedway – Practice 1 Results
Pos  Driver  Team  Engine
1 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet
2 Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
3 Scott McLaughlin Team Penske Chevrolet
4 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
5 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet
6 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
7 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet
8 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
9 Jimmie Johnson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
10 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
11 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
12 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet
13 Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
14 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda
15 Takuma Sato Dale Coyne w/ Rick Ware Racing Honda
16 Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
17 Simon Pagenaud Meyer Shank Racing Honda
18 David Malukas Dale Coyne w/ HMD Motosports Honda
19 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda
20 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Honda
21 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet
22 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
23 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda
24 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Autosport Honda
25 Dalton Kellett AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
26 Kyle Kirkwood AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet

Simon Pagenaud and Newgarden won the first doubleheader event…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Crash RSS Feed…