Motorsport News

Extreme E: Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton Teams Fierce Title Fight

Extreme E: Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton Teams Fierce Title Fight

A highly competitive Season 2 has rolled the showdown for the title onto the fifth and final race of the year, the Energy X Prix, to be staged this weekend in Punta del Este, Uruguay.

The teams founded by 2016 Formula One world champion Nico Rosberg and seven-time F1 world champion Lewis Hamilton will fiercely battle for glory at the Extreme E Season 2 decider.

However, they are not alone in their title hunt as two other teams remain in contention for the title in the series’ second visit to South America, the first to Uruguay.

In the lead-up to the season’s grand finale, the off-road, all-electric racing series breaks new ground in Uruguay, one of the leading countries in renewable energy production, currently generating over 98 percent of all electricity from renewable sources, primarily through wind power.

With still 30 points on the table, the team founded by Nico Rosberg, Rosberg X Racing (RXR), leads the championship standings with 93 points, just 17 ahead of rival, X44 Vida Carbon Racing, founded by Hamilton.

The reigning champions (RXR), represented by the Swedish duo Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, and the five-time FIA World Rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson, aim to claim back-to-back titles.

There’s definitely a lot at stake going into the final round of this season. You need to be cautious and not always take big risks, but I just want to get back behind the wheel and give it my all. In Extreme E, anything can happen, so it’s important that we remain focused, stay on our toes and do the best we can,” Ahlin-Kottulinsky remarked.

Meanwhile, 2021 runner-up, X44 Vida Carbon Racing, arrives in Punta del Este on top form, having earned its maiden victory thus far this season at the Antofagasta Minerals Copper X Prix in Chile by late September, summing up 66 points.

The outfit is in pursuit of RXR, looking to record a maiden championship triumph by the hands of the pairing Cristina Gutierrez and Sebastien Loeb.

Last year, the Spaniard became only the second woman ever to win a Dakar Rally stage.

For his part, the Frenchman, who also goes by the nickname of Le Patron, ‘The Boss,’ is the most successful driver in WRC history with nine-time under his belt.

Extreme E Founder and CEO Alejandro Agag commented: “The Uruguay Natural Energy X Prix promises to be a spectacular event, especially as we have such a close battle for the lead with four teams still in the running to win the championship. We are confident it will be one of our most…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Racing News Articles…