Formula 1 Racing

Ferrari junior Bearman finally takes first win of 2024 in Austria sprint race · RaceFans

Oliver Bearman

Ferrari junior Oliver Bearman took his first victory in Formula 2 in 2024 ahead of Red Bull junior Pepe Marti.

Bearman took the lead off the start line from Kush Maini and never looked back, winning by just under two seconds.

Championship leader Paul Aron finished third to further extend his advantage at the top of the standings.

Bearman started alongside partial-reverse-grid pole winner Kush Maini. But the Ferrari junior leapt out into the lead of the race when the lights went out.

Maini then fell to third behind Pepe Marti after a three-way fight between the pair of them and Taylor Barnard, with Marti losing his left-hand front wing endplate following minor contact with Maini into turn three.

Despite his minor damage, Marti stuck within a second of the race leader, allowing him to continue to use DRS. The race entered a phase of tyre management, with Bearman keeping out of reach of his pursuer.

With eight laps remaining, championship leader Aron made a move on Maini for third, dropping his rival into the clutches of Invicta team mate Gabriel Bortoleto, who demoted him to fourth. In the final laps, Bortoleto began to pressure Aron for third, but the Hitech driver kept his nerve and managed to hold onto his position.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Out front, Bearman did not offer Marti behind him any sniff of the lead and held him off over the line to secure his first race victory of 2024 and the first podium for Prema with F2’s new chassis for 2024. Marti finished just under two seconds behind in second place, with Aron taking yet another podium in third.

Bortoleto took fourth ahead of Dennis Hauger in fifth after he was involved in a collision with MP team mate Franco Colapinto at turn four on the final lap. As Colapinto spun out, Jak Crawford finished sixth ahead of Maini. Joshua Duerksen, Zak O’Sullivan and Victor Martins completed the top ten.

Formula 2 Austria race one results

Position Car Driver Team
1 3 Ollie Bearman Prema
2 21 Josep Maria Marti Campos
3 17 Paul Aron Hitech
4 10 Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta
5 11 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport
6 7 Jak Crawford DAMS
7 9 Kush Maini Invicta
8 24 Joshua Duerksen AIX
9 2 Zak O’Sullivan ART
10 1 Victor Martins ART
11 12 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport
12 25 Taylor Barnard AIX
13 20 Isack Hadjar Campos
14 14 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort
15 4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema
16 8 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS
17 5 Zane Maloney Rodin
18 16 Amaury…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at RaceFans…