Formula 1 Racing

British drivers to have won the British Grand Prix

Hamilton's 2019 Silverstone win, his sixth, established him as the most successful driver in British GP history

Not every F1 driver is lucky enough to have a home grand prix, as many world champions spent an entire career without racing in their native country.

That is especially true for Finnish trio Mika Hakkinen, Kimi Raikkonen and Keke Rosberg, as the Scandinavian country has never hosted an F1 race.

So, those from the United Kingdom should count themselves lucky as the British Grand Prix has been a staple of the F1 calendar since it hosted the championship’s inaugural race in 1950.

The grand prix has since been won by 12 British drivers, so who are they and who has claimed victory the most frequently?

Lewis Hamilton – eight British GP wins

Hamilton’s 2019 Silverstone win, his sixth, established him as the most successful driver in British GP history

Photo by: Mark Sutton

Years active in F1: 2007 – present
Wins at the British GP: 8 (2008, 2014-17, 2019-21)

Lewis Hamilton is the king of the British GP, as his eight victories are the most of any driver in history. From the moment he entered F1 in 2007, the seven-time world champion has been fighting at the front as Hamilton claimed pole for his debut British GP – only to lose victory during the pit window due to a slow McLaren stop.

But Hamilton rebounded perfectly by dominating the 2008 British GP en route to his maiden world championship that year. He delivered a masterclass in the wet to win by 68.577s.

Hamilton had to wait until the turbo-hybrid era began in 2014 for not only his next world championship, but also his next British GP victory. In his second year at Mercedes, Hamilton had another large win margin of 30.135s, but was helped by team-mate Nico Rosberg losing his lead to a gearbox problem.

That started Hamilton’s run of four consecutive British GP victories – the second driver to achieve such a feat – which resulted in him tying Jim Clark and Alain Prost for the most wins at the event. He had to wait a little while to outright claim the record though.

In 2018, Hamilton lost the lead to Sebastian Vettel at the start, before a tag from Raikkonen caused him to spin at Turn 3 on the opening lap. But Hamilton returned to winning ways in 2019 at Silverstone with a record-breaking sixth British GP victory.

This started another winning run that culminated in Hamilton’s eighth and most recent British GP win in 2021, a race remembered for his famous clash with Max Verstappen at Copse on lap one.

Jim Clark – five British GP wins

Clark won the British GP five teams, all aboard Lotus machinery

Clark won the British GP five…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at – Formula 1 – Stories…