Formula 1 Racing

Cassidy comes back from last to win chaotic first Berlin Eprix · RaceFans

Nick Cassidy, Jaguar, Berlin, 2024

Nick Cassidy came from last to first to win the opening race of the Berlin EPrix double-header.

The Jaguar driver took advantage of multiple Safety Car periods, biding his time on a conservative energy strategy, and rose up in the later laps to claim his second win of the season.

Cassidy was one of leaders in the frantic 46-lap race. He hed home Jean-Eric Vergne to win by just under five seconds. Nissan driver Oliver Rowland claimed the final podium position in third, one place ahead of Cassidy’s team mate Mitch Evans.

The revised Berlin circuit prompted incredibly tight pack racing, with the entire field covered by a matter of seconds for the majority of the race. Cassidy slid down to 21st place – the last car running at the mid-point of the race – but managed to navigate around several incidents and work his way up passing Vergne on the third of six added laps at the end of the race before pulling away with a healthy amount of energy to take an unlikely victory.

Pascal Wehrlein was one of the early leaders but fell to finish in fifth place in his Porsche ahead of team mate Antonio Felix da Costa in sixth. Stoffel Vandoorne was seventh for DS Penske with pole-winner Edoardo Mortara in eighth and Sacha Fenestraz in ninth. Taylor Barnard, substituting for the injured Sam Bird at McLaren, claimed the final point in tenth.

Envision driver Joel Eriksson, returning to the series for the weekend, was the first retirement after damaging his right-rear suspension sometimes. Lucas di Grassi was knocked into retirement by Dan Ticktum after the field bunched up at the hairpin just after the mid-point of the race.

Maximilian Guenther crashed out after contact with Jake Hughes, before Jake Dennis pulled into the pits to retire a handful of laps from the end with damage to his car.

The result sees Cassidy jump ahead of Wehrlein into the lead of the championship on 121 points, nine ahead of the Porsche driver. The second race of the round will take place tomorrow.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Race result

1 37 Jaguar Nick Cassidy Jaguar I-Type 6
2 25 DS Penske Jean-Eric Vergne DS E-TENSE FE23
3 22 McLaren Oliver Rowland Nissan e-4ORCE 04
4 9 Jaguar Mitch Evans Jaguar I-Type 6
5 94 Porsche Pascal Wehrlein Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
6 13 Porsche Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
7 2 DS Penske Stoffel Vandoorne DS E-TENSE FE23
8 48 Mahinda Edoardo Mortara Mahindra M10Electro
9 23 Nissan Sacha Fenestraz Nissan e-4ORCE 04
10 8 McLaren Taylor Barnard Nissan e-4ORCE 04
11 51 Abt Cupra Kelvin…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at RaceFans…