Formula 1 Racing

Da Costa beats Cassidy to win frantic second Berlin Eprix · RaceFans

Da Costa beats Cassidy to win frantic second Berlin Eprix · RaceFans

Antonio Felix da Costa won a frantic second race of the weekend at the Berlin Eprix, taking victory ahead of Nick Cassidy’s Jaguar.

The Porsche driver pulled away from the chasing pack in the later laps to secure his first victory of the season.

Cassidy overtook Oliver Rowland’s Nissan on the final lap of the race to claim second place, with Rowland holding onto the final podium position in third.

Like Saturday’s first race of the weekend, the field were heavily bunched up throughout the majority of the race with several lead changes over the early laps. A Safety Car period for a crash involving Maximilian Guenther helped to string out the field before a second clash involving Norman Nato and Sacha Fenestraz bunched the pack up again.

Da Costa was one of several drivers who ran at the front of the field and exchanged the lead, but once he assumed the lead he never let go and held on to win by six tenths of a second from Cassidy. Rowland was two seconds further back in third to take the final podium position, with Pascal Wehrlein taking fourth in the second Porsche.

Jake Dennis finished in fifth with Mitch Evans taking sixth place. Jehan Daruvala was seventh with Taylor Barnard the leading McLaren driver in eighth and stand-in Joel Eriksson putting his Envision in ninth. Jean-Eric Vergne claimed the final point in tenth.

Guenther was the first retirement from the race, joined by Fenestraz after the Nissan driver was hit by Nato. They were the only two drivers to fail to finish the race, despite several drivers suffering damage to their cars through the race.

The race sees Cassidy extend his championship lead to 24 points over Wehrlein, with Rowland holding third ahead of Jake Dennis. The next Formula E round will take place at the Shanghai International Circuit in two weekends’ time.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Race result

Pos. No. Driver Team Car
1 8 McLaren Taylor Barnard Nissan e-4ORCE 04
2 1 Andretti Jake Dennis Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
3 5 McLaren Jake Hughes Nissan e-4ORCE 04
4 4 Envision Joel Eriksson Jaguar I-Type 6
5 37 Jaguar Nick Cassidy Jaguar I-Type 6
6 48 Mahinda Edoardo Mortara Mahindra M10Electro
7 16 Envision Paul Aron Jaguar I-Type 6
8 2 DS Penske Stoffel Vandoorne DS E-TENSE FE23
9 9 Jaguar Mitch Evans Jaguar I-Type 6
10 18 Maserati Jehan Daruvala Maserati Tipo Folgore
11 23 Nissan Sacha Fenestraz Nissan e-4ORCE 04
12 94 Porsche Pascal Wehrlein Porsche 99X Electric Gen3
13 22 McLaren Oliver Rowland Nissan e-4ORCE 04
14 51 Abt Cupra Kelvin van der Linde Mahindra M10Electro
15 11 Abt…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at RaceFans…