IndyCar Racing

IndyCar: Josef Newgarden Wins HyVee Homefront 250 Race 1 at Iowa – Full Race Results

IndyCar: Josef Newgarden Wins HyVee Homefront 250 Race 1 at Iowa – Full Race Results

2023 HyVee Homefront 250 Race 1 at Iowa – Race Results
Pos  Driver  Team  Engine
1 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet
2 Scott McLaughlin Team Penske Chevrolet
3 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren Chevrolet
4 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
5 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet
6 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
7 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport Honda
8 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
9 Takuma Sato Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
10 Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren Chevrolet
11 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda
12 David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing Honda
13 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren Chevrolet
14 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda
15 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet
16 Agustin Canapino Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet
17 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
18 Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
19 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda
20 Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
21 Conor Daly Meyer Shank Racing Honda
22 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Autosport Honda
23 Ryan Hunter-Reay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
24 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
25 Sting Ray Robb Dale Coyne Racing Honda
26 Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
27 Benjamin Pedersen AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
28 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda

Josef Newgarden may not legally own Iowa Speedway, but figuratively, he does. The Team Penske driver dominated the short oval once again, earning his fifth victory at the track today. Newgarden joins AJ Foyt, Al Unser, and Nigel Mansell as the only drivers to ever win four consecutive oval races. It is his third victory this season, and his first since winning the Indianapolis 500 in May.

Today’s victory moves Newgarden into second place in the championship standings, still 98 points behind leader Alex Palou of rival Chip Ganassi Racing. It was a 1-2 finish for the Penske organization, with Scott McLaughlin finishing right where he started. Pato O’Ward earned his third consecutive podium at Iowa, finishing just ahead of Marcus Ericsson.

Will Power rounded out the top-five on Saturday, but it was another disappointment for the veteran. Power swept the poles for the two races this weekend earlier in qualifying, which extend his all-time record to 70. It is the second consecutive year that he has done that, yet he still has never won in 16 career starts at the Speedway.

Scott Dixon is another former champion that has never won at Iowa. He too came up short today, finishing in 6th. Kyle Kirkwood earned a 7th place finish with Palou scoring another top-ten result….

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Latest indycar News from…