IndyCar Racing

IndyCar: Will Power Sweeps Poles at Iowa Speedway – Full Qualifying Results

IndyCar: Will Power Sweeps Poles at Iowa Speedway - Full Qualifying Results

2023 HyVee Homefront 250 Race 1 at Iowa – Qualifying Results
Pos  Driver  Team  Engine
1 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet
2 Scott McLaughlin Team Penske Chevrolet
3 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet
4 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
5 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren Chevrolet
6 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda
7 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
8 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda
9 David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing Honda
10 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
11 Takuma Sato Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
12 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Autosport Honda
13 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
14 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda
15 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
16 Ryan Hunter-Reay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
17 Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
18 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport Honda
19 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
20 Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
21 Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren Chevrolet
22 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren Chevrolet
23 Conor Daly Meyer Shank Racing Honda
24 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet
25 Agustin Canapino Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet
26 Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
27 Sting Ray Robb Dale Coyne Racing Honda
28 Benjamin Pedersen AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet

Will Power is having deja vu at Iowa Speedway, where he once again swept pole position for the two races on the doubleheader weekend. After qualifying on pole for both races last year, Power did the same today to earn career poles number 69 and 70 to extend his all-time record. These are the first poles of the season for Power, who earned two bonus points for taking the top spot.

Team Penske swept the top three positions for today’s race at Iowa, with Scott McLaughlin 2nd and Josef Newgarden in 3rd. The front row for tomorrow’s race is the same, but Newgarden will start 7th in that one. As dominant as Alex Palou has been this season, everyone knew coming into this weekend that Newgarden is the driver to beat.

Newgarden has dominated this track over the years, to the tune of four wins and 1,506 laps led in his last nine starts. No other driver has led more than 267 laps at Iowa in that time frame. Newgarden’s streak of eight consecutive top-six finishes came to an end last year when he crashed while leading in Race 2 due to a mechanical issue on his car. He should have gotten his fifth win at Iowa last year, but that could easily come today or tomorrow.

Palou surprisingly has not had much success at Iowa. He has never finished inside the top-five or even led a…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Latest indycar News from…