IndyCar Racing

IndyCar: Full Driver Championship Standings After Kyle Kirkwood’s Win at Nashville

IndyCar: Full Driver Championship Standings After Kyle Kirkwood's Win at Nashville

The 2023 championship still belongs to Alex Palou, who takes an 84 point lead into the final four races of the season. Nashville native Josef Newgarden finished 4th today at his home track, but Palou was ahead of him once again, celebrating on the podium. Unless he suffers a monumental meltdown to close the season, Palou will earn his second IndyCar championship next month.

Behind Newgarden are a pair of Scotts, in Dixon and McLaughlin. The six-time series champion is still searching for his first win of the season, but is running out of opportunities. The top-five spots in the standings are all occupied by Ganassi and Team Penske, which should not come as a surprise. These two powerhouse organizations have won every championship since 2012.

Pato O’Ward remains sixth in the standings, ahead of reigning series champion Will Power. Christian Lundgaard holds steady in eight place, with today’s race winner Kyle Kirkwood moving up to ninth. His Andretti Autosport teammate Colton Herta rounds out the top-ten after 13 races.

Four drivers still have a realistic shot at the title, but it is likely going to be a two-horse race between Palou and Newgarden. It will be a tall task for Newgarden to overcome the deficit in four races, given how strong Palou has been this season. Anything can happen in this final stretch, but the next stop is the IMS road course. Palou won that race in early May, but Newgarden got the historic victory on the oval two weeks later.

2023 INDYCAR Series Championship Standings  
Pos  Driver  Team  Manufacturer Points
1 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 513
2 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet 429
3 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 387
4 Scott McLaughlin Team Penske Chevrolet 371
5 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 357
6 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 353
7 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet 337
8 Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 297
9 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport Honda 290
10 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda 285
11 Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 276
12 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda 241
13 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 241
14 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet 203
15 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 199
16 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 197
17 David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing Honda 181
18 Marcus Armstrong Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 173
19 Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet 163
20 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda 162
21 Agustin Canapino Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet 142
22 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Latest indycar News from…