IndyCar Racing

IndyCar: Full Driver Championship Standings After Gallagher Grand Prix at Indianapolis

IndyCar: Full Driver Championship Standings After Gallagher Grand Prix at Indianapolis

If the championship was not decided coming into today’s race at Indianapolis, it is certainly over now. Josef Newgarden had a slim shot to catch Alex Palou over the final four races of the season, but the Indy 500 winner was involved in a crash on the opening lap of the race today. Newgarden was digging out of a hole the rest of the day and finished 25th. He is now 105 points behind Palou and will need a miracle to win his third title this year.

Scott Dixon had a tremendous day, even by his standards. The six-time series champion set two all-time records in this race, and moved up to second in the championship with the victory. Dixon now holds the record for most consecutive starts (319) and the most consecutive seasons (19) with at least one win. He is 101 points behind his teammate Palou, but has been incredible consistent this year.

Scott McLaughlin fell 144 points behind Palou but remains fourth in the standings. Pato O’Ward climbed back into the top-five with his podium finish today. The only other movement in the standings was Pato’s Arrow McLaren teammate Alexander Rossi moving back into tenth after his top-five result today.

With Palou running away with the championship, the focus now is actually towards the bottom of the standings. The Leaders Circle money that is awarded to the top 22 finishing teams is worth well over $1 million per entry. There are several teams battling to get in over these last three races of the season. That will be one of the storylines to follow as the season gets closer to the finish line.

2023 INDYCAR Series Championship Standings  
Pos  Driver  Team  Manufacturer Points
1 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 539
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 438
3 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet 434
4 Scott McLaughlin Team Penske Chevrolet 395
5 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 388
6 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 377
7 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet 365
8 Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 330
9 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport Honda 312
10 Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 306
11 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda 302
12 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda 253
13 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 246
14 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 241
15 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 218
16 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet 216
17 David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing Honda 195
18 Marcus Armstrong Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 179
19 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda 177
20 Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet 170
21 Agustin…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Latest indycar News from…