Motorsport News

Shane van Gisbergen Wins 1st Xfinity Pole at Sonoma

Nascar Xfinity Series

Last week’s NASCAR Xfinity Series winner at Portland International Raceway, Shane van Gisbergen, was the fastest qualifier for the Zip Buy Now, Pay Later 250 at Sonoma Raceway with a fastest lap of 95.933 mph, setting a new track record on the newly repaved circuit.

Van Gisbergen won his first NASCAR Xfinity Series pole in what will be his 14th series start.

NASCAR Cup Series regular Ty Gibbs will share the front row with the New Zealander with a speed of 95.458 mph. Gibbs has raced in two prior events this year, starting in the top three in all of his start with a best finish of ninth in his last start at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Austin Hill and van Gisbergen’s Kaulig Racing teammate AJ Allmendinger make up the second row. Justin Allgaier completed the top five.

Jesse Love, John Hunter Nemechek, Sam Mayer, Sheldon Creed and Sammy Smith rounded out the top 10.

With 39 entries qualifying for 38 positions, Sage Karam, driving the No. 35 for Joey Gase Racing, was the only driver who did not qualify for the race.

Boris Said piloted the No. 17 for Hendrick Motorsports in a backup car after crashing in practice. He will start at the back of the field.

The Xfinity Series will take the green flag from Wine Country later today, June 8 at 8 p.m. ET. Coverage will be provided by FOX Sports 1.

Sign up for the Frontstretch Newsletter

A daily email update (Monday through Friday) providing racing news, commentary, features, and information from
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at …